Legislative & Emerging Issues

    The mission of the Legislative & Emerging Issues Committee

    • Monitor local, state and federal issues of importance to the OGFOA membership and public finance profession.

    • Function as source of information to the OGFOA Board of Directors and committees in setting priority issues for education, outreach, and research.

    • Function as a source of information (but not as an advocate) to lobbying groups (LOC, AOC, SDAO, SBOA) on governmental finance issues/concerns.

    • Promote the active participation Legislative & Emerging Committee members as conference speakers and contributors to other outreach efforts including newsletters, website postings, “call for action” emails and special projects.

    • Coordinate efforts with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.

    • Serve as a pool of subject matter experts to review or become involved with policy issues as requested by the Board or as otherwise appropriate.

    • Coordinate with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.

    • Develop and implement communication mechanisms to quickly disperse information to OGFOA members when an emerging issue needs timely information sharing.

    Committee Activities

    • Quarterly conference calls coordinated by the chairs:

    • Meet at the annual Fall and/or Spring Conferences (in lieu of quarterly conference call).

    • Participate on other committees particularly Education, Accounting Standards, Information Technology, and Developing Professionals.

    • Regular communication to the Board of Directors to help set policy priorities.

    • Regular communication with the OGFOA President and Board Liaison for any matters requiring more urgent attention.

    Legislative & Emerging Issues
    Committee Co-Chair

    Carol Samuels
    Piper Jaffray & Co
    1300 SW Fifth Ave.
    Suite 3680
    Portland , OR 97201
    503 275-8301
    503 275-8320
    e-mail: carol.e.samuels@pjc.com
    Member
    Linda Carter
    Pendleton, City of
    500 SW Dorion Ave
    Pendleton , OR 97801
    541-966-0331
    541-966-0231
    e-mail: Linda.Carter@ci.pendleton.or.us
    Member
    Jennifer Cooperman
    Portland, City of
    1120 SW 5th Avenue, Room 1250
    Portland , OR 97204
    503-823-6851

    e-mail: jennifer.cooperman@portlandoregon.gov
    Member
    Courtney Dausz
    Mersereau Shannon LLP
    1 SW Columbia Street, Suite 1600
    Portland , OR 97258
    503-226-6400 x216

    e-mail: cdausz@mershanlaw.com
    Member
    Roger Dawes
    Washington County
    155 N First Ave, Suite 270, MS25
    Hillsboro , OR 97124-3072
    503-846-8414
    503-846-4464
    e-mail: Roger_Dawes@co.washington.or.us
    Member
    Debra Grabler
    Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue
    11945 SW 70th Ave
    Tigard , OR 97223
    503-649-8577
    503-649-5347
    e-mail: debra.grabler@tvfr.com
    Member

    Don Hudson
    Tualatin, City of
    18880 SW Martinazzi Ave.
    Tualatin , OR 97062-7092
    503-691-3050
    503-691-6884
    e-mail: dhudson@tualatin.gov
    Member
    Wendy Johnson
    League of Oregon Cities
    1201 Court St. NE #200
    Salem , OR 97301
    503-588-6550
    503-399-4863
    e-mail: wjohnson@orcities.org
    Member
    Wayne Lowry
    Deschutes County
    1300 NW Wall Street
    Suite 200
    Bend , OR 97701
    541-388-6559

    e-mail: wayne.lowry@deschutes.org
    Member
    Gulgun Mersereau
    Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP
    200 SW Market Street
    Suite 350
    Portland , OR 97201
    503-402-1325
    503-402-1331
    e-mail: gmersereau@hawkins.com
    Member
    Summer Sears
    Summer Sears CPA, LLC
    PO Box 5094
    Bend , OR 97708-5094
    541-241-2056

    e-mail: summer@searscpa.com
    Member
    Monica Steele
    Clatsop County
    800 Exchange, Suite 310
    Astoria , OR 97103
    503-325-8565

    e-mail: msteele@co.clatsop.or.us
    Member

    Jeff White
    Marion County
    555 Court St NE
    Salem , OR 97309
    503-373-4433
    503-373-4379
    e-mail: jdwhite@co.marion.or.us
    Member
    Sharon Wojda
    Bend, City of
    710 NW Wall Street
    Bend , OR 97701
    541-693-2158

    e-mail: swojda@bendoregon.gov
    Member
    Matt Zook
    Newberg, City of
    414 E First St
    Newberg , OR 97132
    503-537-1216

    e-mail: Matt.Zook@newbergoregon.gov