Emerging Issues Committee

The mission of the Emerging Issues Committee

  • Monitor local, state and federal issues of importance to the OGFOA membership and public finance profession.

  • Function as source of information to the OGFOA Board of Directors and committees in setting priority issues for education, outreach, and research.

  • Function as a source of information (but not as an advocate) to lobbying groups (LOC, AOC, SDAO, SBOA) on governmental finance issues/concerns.

  • Promote the active participation Legislative & Emerging Committee members as conference speakers and contributors to other outreach efforts including newsletters, website postings, “call for action” emails and special projects.

  • Coordinate efforts with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.

  • Serve as a pool of subject matter experts to review or become involved with policy issues as requested by the Board or as otherwise appropriate.

  • Coordinate with partner organizations and associations on topics of mutual interest.

  • Develop and implement communication mechanisms to quickly disperse information to OGFOA members when an emerging issue needs timely information sharing.

Committee Activities

  • Quarterly conference calls coordinated by the chairs:

  • Meet at the annual Fall and/or Spring Conferences (in lieu of quarterly conference call).

  • Participate on other committees particularly Education, Accounting Standards, Information Technology, and Developing Professionals.

  • Regular communication to the Board of Directors to help set policy priorities.

  • Regular communication with the OGFOA President and Board Liaison for any matters requiring more urgent attention.

Emerging Issues Committee

Nancy Brewer

Committee Co-Chair

Corvallis, City of

nancy.brewer@corvallisoregon.gov

Carol Samuels

Committee Co-Chair

Piper Jaffray & Co

carol.e.samuels@pjc.com

Carla Atwood

Member

Clackamas Co Water Environment Services

carlaatw@clackamas.us

Linda Carter

Member

Pendleton, City of

Linda.Carter@ci.pendleton.or.us

Jennifer Cooperman

Member

Portland, City of

jennifer.cooperman@portlandoregon.gov

Courtney Dausz

Member

Mersereau Shannon LLP

cdausz@mershanlaw.com

Roger Dawes

Member

Washington County

Roger_Dawes@co.washington.or.us

Don Hudson

Member

Tualatin, City of

dhudson@tualatin.gov

Wayne Lowry

Member

wlowryssd@gmail.com

Gulgun Mersereau

Member

Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP

gmersereau@hawkins.com

Summer Sears

Member

Summer Sears CPA, LLC

summer@searscpa.com

Monica Steele

Member

Clatsop County

msteele@co.clatsop.or.us

Jeff White

Member

Marion County

jdwhite@co.marion.or.us

Sharon Wojda

Member

Bend, City of

swojda@bendoregon.gov

Matt Zook

Member

Newberg, City of

Matt.Zook@newbergoregon.gov