Accounting Standards

The Accounting Standards Review Committee fosters individual professional growth and advances the government finance profession by actively participating in the preliminary stages of accounting standards development and educating membership with information on proposed changes in governmental accounting standards.

The committee’s objectives include the following:

  • Encourage all OMFOA members to participate in the preliminary stages of accounting standards development and other emerging issues regarding government accounting, finance and best management practices.

  • Meet regularly in person to review, evaluate and prepare responses to GASB exposure drafts. 

  • Provide OMFOA membership with information on accounting issues and developments. 

  • Assist OMFOA members with finding answers to accounting questions.

  • Publish articles for the OMFOA newsletter regarding accounting standard developments. 

  • Coordinate efforts with the OMFOA Education Committee to facilitate involvement at training opportunities.

The committee’s goals include the following: 

  • Meet regularly to discuss current issues and developments related to accounting standards.  

  • Prepare timely responses to GASB exposure drafts which represent the membership and stakeholder interests. 

  • Partner with other professional associations like the Oregon Society of Certified Public Accountants (ORCPA) and/or American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA).   

  • Provide timely articles for the newsletter about issues and developments in accounting standards. 

  • Utilize the website to share information and resources. 

  • Provide support to the Education Committee to offer and organize training.

Accounting Standards Review

Ronald Vaught

Committee Chair

Portland, City of

ronald.vaught@portlandoregon.gov

Ron Harker

Board Liason

Roseburg, City of

rharker@cityofroseburg.org

Jenn Ambuehl

Member

Benton County

jennifer.ambuehl@co.benton.or.us

Matthew Apken

Member

Lebanon, City of

mapken@ci.lebanon.or.us

Christa Bosserman Wolfe

Member

Clackamas County

CWolfe@co.clackamas.or.us

Catherine Brucker

Member

Smith-Wagar Brucker Consulting, LLC

cathy@Smith-WagarBrucker.com

Cindy Chauran

Member

City of Molalla

cchauran@cityofmolalla.com

Elizabeth Comfort

Member

ebethcomfort@gmail.com

Kathleen Cordero

Member

Clean Water Services

corderok@cleanwaterservices.org

Mike Crocker

Member

Junction City, City of

mcrocker@ci.junction-city.or.us

Wendy Feth

Member

Salem Area Mass Transit District

wendy.feth@cherriots.org

Samina Gillum

Member

Multnomah County Finance Budget & Tax

Samina.Gillum@multco.us

Tonya Moffitt

Member

Merina & Company, LLP

tmoffitt@merinacpas.com

Robert Moody

Member

Merina + Co.

rmoody@merina.com

Kevin Mullerleile

Member

Moss Adams LLP

kevin.mullerleile@mossadams.com

Matt Warner

Member

City of Tualatin

mwarner@tualatin.gov

Kathleen Zaragoza

Member

Silverton, City of

kzaragoza@silverton.or.us